Table Top Rally Report

Philip and Rosemary Bayne-Powell organised a Table Top rally in July  for us in conjunction with the Inter Register Club (IRC) to which the MG Car Club is affiliated.

As we are not able currently to take part in any form of competition, a Table Top rally helps keep us in the competition mode. The last time a Table Top rally was run in the SE Centre was back in February 2016, at a Fairmile natter evening.

This event attracted 32 entries with a wide range of virtual cars from our own MGs to Rileys, Humbers, Austins and Alvises etc from the IRC.

The entries were broken down into novices and Experts, who were anyone who had come in the top three in any previous rallies. We had 14 Experts, but the novices totalled 18, which was very satisfying to know that many newcomers wanted to try out a Table Top rally.

The clues were given out at 10am for the novices and 30 minutes later for the experts, with a finish time of 12.30, thus giving the novices half an hour more that the experts to produce the answers. These were e-mailed back to the organisers, with a one point penalty for being every minute late, just like a scatter rally. The novices also had slightly different instructions to help them get into the swing of things.

The 15 section instructions took competitors down roads, using spot heights, grid crossings (both numbered and compass directions). Coloured roads and road numbers were also used, as well as compass turnings at junctions. The later sections left the roads and followed the course of a river, cycle route and electrical power lines to add interest and to give the experts a challenge.

The scores covered a wide spectrum ranging from the winning 115 points down to single figures. The MG Car Club team did well to come second (out of 8 teams) to the Austins, largely helped by David de Saxe (MGA) and Jeremy Bayne-Powell (Midget).

Due to success of this rally, it is proposed to run another one on September 13th 

Inter Register and MG Car Club SE

Table Top Rally Results

12th July 2020


PosDriverNavigatorVirtual vehicleScore 
1stCarl Rich 1947 Riley 12hp115N
2nd=Andy RansonDo RansonAustin 10/4114N
2nd=Peter ChristieRichard LongAustin 18/6114N
4thDavid de SaxeAnne de SaxeMGA110N
5thJohn Buckley Ford Model A107N
6thDick PattenChristopher PattenFiat 508102E
7=Peter HannaAdrian DuckerRiley Gamecock101E
7=Hebbie KayJacky Payne 101E
9thTrevor Edwards Austin 1098N
10thJeremy B-PowellToby Bayne—PowellMG Midget97N
11thPhilip LonghurstBarbara LonghurstHumber 9/2090N
12thColin CookeChris CookeAustin 7 saloon89E
13thBob Blackstock MG M-type87E
14thStephen Kay Austin 7 Ruby84N
15thJoy Cooke  83E
16th=Malcolm Haward Jowett80E
16th=Austin BannerAlison NewlynMGRV880N
18thChris SmithPatsy SmithRiley Adelphi78E
19thMark PaceyRachel  PaceyRiley Falcon77E
20thRoger WrapsonJudy WrapsonRiley Lynx76N
21stTony GuntonClive WilsonJowett Jupiter67N
22ndJanice LeighChris Leigh1930 pedal Sociable65E
23rdTony WesthallPat WesthallAustin 12/6 Ascot61N
24thIan WebbGill WebbHumber 9/2060E
25thBruce Girvan Jowett 7hp59E
26thLindsey Cooke  57N
27thRichard Keil Jowett 853E
28thDavid Crouch Renault KJ139N
29thLiz CooperKeith CooperMG TF LE50016N
30thIan RussellPaula Russell1958 MG Magnette5N
Nigel CoulterJane CoulterHumber 12/25E
Karen StubberfieldRichard StubberfieldAlvis 12/50N

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.