Awards 2023

The Trophies at The Stanhill Court Hotel ready to be handed out

The 2023 MGCCSE Awards were held at the Annual Lunch at Stanhill Court Hotel, Chalrwood on the 29th October 2023. The ceremony was combined with a lunch at the hotel, a secretary’s rally plate competition, a raffle for the Brain Tumour Charity, and a talk on MG Speed cars by Jonathan Suckling. A report on the event can be read here – ANNUAL LUNCH & AWARDS 2023.

Thank you goes to John Davies for looking after and inscribing all the trophies and John Morgan for collating the results.

This is a list of all the 2023 Award Winners:-


Club Member(s) of the YearDavid & Ursula GriffithsFor continuing to organise the Sussex Wanderers and Natter despite David being unwell this year. Ursula took on most of the organising duties.
Carrisma Cup (Spirit of the Club)Trevor Osborne & Susan FranklinFor supporting the Ash Natter and attending main events in period style clothing
Banana TrophyAndrew YoungBest performance at the MGCC Brands Hatch Meeting (and winning the BCV8 Championship)
Alternative Pride of Ownership Overall WinnerDave NaylorWinner with most points scored over three rounds of the Alternative PoO
Magic Midge AwardMartin NealBest Result from South East Driving Tests
Social Championship AwardSimon GrayBest social attendance of year’s events, natter meetings
Pentathlon TrophyPeter ParkerBest result for entering most SE Events
Ladies AwardLis WooleyBest result for a lady entering most SE events
Lew Wooster TrophyJenny MorganMarshalling/ helping at most events during the year
South East Centre ChampionshipDavid & Andrea KoskelaBest Result scored for best attendance at SE Events
Enthusiasts TrophyGareth EvansPerson who has entered most SE competitions without winning an award
It Could Have Been a Better Day TrophyJenny MorganFor breaking down on the way home from the Penshurst meeting
Andy Turner TrophyJon GloverBest article in the SE Newsletter – Carchaeology
Event Awards 2023
Spring NaviscatOverall Winners
1st Class A
1st Class C & D
1st Class E
Louise Cartledge & Peter Little
Philip & Rosemary Bayne Powell
Martyn Noak & Graham Simms
Steve & Rowan Thompson
George & Caroline PItt
Filching Manor AuotsoloBest MGCC
1st Class A
1st Class B
2nd Class B
1st Class C
2nd Class C
1st Class D
2nd Class D
1st Class E
2nd Class E
3rd Class E
1st Class F
2nd Class F
Fastest Time
Martin Neal
Colin McKay
James Rainford
Graham Childs
Steve Rackley
Paul Hebdon
Cameron Montlake-Mees
Ross McCartney
Tyler Baker
Ian Mepham
Dave Atkins
Lorenzo Wojtanowski
Sue Gibbard
Charlie Lower
Emily Atkins
Lullingstone Spring Meeting1st Concours
1st PremierPoO
1st PoO >65
2nd PoO >65
Richard Thorpe MG3
Karl Foot MGRV8
Tim Luffingham MGC
David Koskela MGTF 85th
Penshurst Autumn MeetingCar of Show
1st Concours
1st PoO <65
1st= PoO >65
1st= PoO >65
2nd PoO >65
Gail Cooper MG PA
Nigel Scutt MGF
David Lepper MGTC
John Langford MG Magnette
Adrian Clifford MGTF 80th
Richard Davies MGC
Autumn Leaves ScavengerWinner
Runner Up
Ian McCullough
Simon Gray
Peter Begbey